Posted in Uncategorized

Feel better about your lack of skill new broadcaster!

This is my pilot entry into my offering “Professional Broadcasting Advice.”   So as I learn, I want to take you with me on this journey.  He we go…

I recently received feedback to some commercial spots that I produced.  Basically, I was told that I sounded like an announcer and that my tone was a bit robotic!  I have to say that I was extremely disappointed to hear that feedback but, it reinforced how much effort really goes into sounding “off-the-cuff.”

I want to sound articulate, relaxed, composed, and confident.  Now I know that I have a lot of fine tuning to do in order to achieve that outcome.  So how do you start?  In my online course, we as new students are told to practice tongue twisters, de-emphasis the explosive “P” and learn a way of replacing that sound with an implosive “B” instead.  These are just a few suggestions so that one would learn to slow down and embrace that the process is new and foreign, not to be rushed by any means.  The problem develops when you feel rushed to meet a deadline to stay within the allotted time frame for the commercial spot.  I found a resource that made me feel less incompetent and more aware that I can do some technical things that would improve my sound quality from using a <p><span style=”background color: yellow”> better microphone</span></p> to sound-proofing my environment.  Rainmaker FM produces a series of audio tutorials that offer good strategies for the new Podcaster and the advice restores one’s faith in their natural abilities.  

So new broadcaster, ease up on yourself. Take a listen to the Podcast and see how much better you feel afterward! Leave a comment and let me know what you thought about the resource as we continue to grow and develop together!

Leave a Reply

