Posted in Not the New Kid on the Block

I will be 50 years old next year! Do I feel ready for this milestone?

I remember what my ex-husband thought about an older teacher he had in elementary school.   The teacher was turning forty years old.  He and his other classmates said at that time, “He’s so old, he’s going to die!” Can you imagine having a group of 4th graders sharing that sentiment about you!  I hope the teacher never heard the comment.I am a practical and rational person.  I know that you are supposed to age and that your health will eventually decline as you approach death. “My grandmother started walking five miles a day when she was sixty.  She’s ninety-seven now, and we don’t know where the hell she is.” ( Comedian / TV Host: Ellen DeGeneres)  That statement reminds me to keep a good sense of humor but,….the reality of aging offers a hard pill to swallow, when you are the one who is holding the glass of water!

After watching the video above and I try to remain motivated and energized.  I do have more to offer.  I am a more confident person.  I am trying to learn from my mistakes and forge forward with a continued plan for greatness.  I am just completing a trade school program through the Ohio Media School because, I want to reach my potential and don’t intend to let my physical age be the only determinant to my future success.  I have a new skill set and I can work in an industry that develops my mind as I age. I have a long time before I die as long as I am blessed with good health.  “The future looks bright, I gotta find my shades.”  That is,… if I can remember where I left them…lol!  Half a century old, or half a century young, either way, I have been in use for a long time.  I look at my face and I see my mother’s.  I felt the panic set in at around the age of forty-five.  That was when all the doubts and questions came flooding in:

  • Did you accomplish everything you wanted to?
  • Will anyone remember you when your gone?
  • Where did all the time go?
  • Are you aging gracefully?
  • Will you live to turn seventy (both my parents passed away at age 69)
  • Will you be ready for retirement?
  • Will you be able to retire?
  • Your life is half over, what kind of legacy are you leaving for your children?

We start to feel very vulnerable as we get older because, we feel like we have to have all your ducks in a row. No,  I am not sure if I have viable answers to my many questions.  I am starting to spend more wisely.  Re-establishing my credit became a goal of mine and I am currently credit worthy although, I don’t plan on pushing my limits this time.  I value savings but, I still struggle to save. I guess I am evolving as I age. “Reallocations of assets and changing your priorities.  You have to know what you are going to spend in retirement (your expenses).  If you are spending all your income, you are not creating enough passive income.  Twenty or thirty times your income is a solid amount of money to live off of.  Wealth transfers of $18,000 to 20,000 in the form of a trust to a newborn (your child) can grow exponentially.  By the time that child is eighteen years of age, your child would have over three and half million dollars.”  These are excellent advisory points one could try to follow to give you some level of stability.  It is alarming that this advice is coming from such young entrepreneurs, who are already financially independent but, they are knowledgeable and helpful.  I have two children who are teenagers now.  I don’t even think that their Gerber Life Insurance Policies have been maintained. So it is a little late in the game for me to start this approach but, it is not time to throw in the towel either!  I will except all the challenges that lie ahead.  As I read somewhere, “there is no use in looking back because, you aren’t going that way!” I don’t care how old you are.  Keep working on the you, you were meant to be.  Time will take care of itself.

Leave a Reply

